Eluded Me

Why do we cease upon one letter?

Hold the word that could make a heart better?

I heard heart whispers from the core of my dreams

still with no more than a waiting night

a fear fueled fight

they eluded me

 

I could never carry a soul

who could not carry their own

I suppose this honestly

screamed so painfully

that this eluded me

 

Truth is sorrows are not passing phrases

They build up from lines left long

pilling a pain which never fills enough pages

For a mind discouraged well past despair

only after being swept away

unknown joy eluded them, they say…

 

I could never carry a soul

who could not carry their own

I suppose this honestly

screamed so painfully

that this eluded me

 

Hold a heart reminding

you to speak, there is no how

Hold hope you’ll never need

speak of dreams eluding your deed…

Carrie Gilbert 2017

Leave a Reply

