All the Love in My World

This emotion weighs alone

sits as silent as the waiting stone

I leave it restless upon the shore

for as breaths are held, grand waves crash once more

 

This regret isn’t the same

as disappointments which visited me in disdain

I long to heal all, yet cannot fight

honest exchanges of truth by daylight

 

All the love in my world may never be spent

My heart has never been cautious

with the care it must rent

and sometimes its beat grows hopelessly weak

after partaking, unavoidably engaging in the rain…

 

All the love in my world may never be spent

How I feel overcome by each emotion let

screaming through my soul and leaving me no choice

but to carry the weight and the light to which I give voice…

 

All the love in my world may never be spent

 

…and the dangerous cost is

how my heart has never been cautious

with the care it must rent

Carrie Gilbert 2017

Leave a Reply

