Forgotten Unforgettable

I told myself enough
of the harsh winds
insisting they echo
steal my need
each second tying another
wire inside of my head
while I felt until I fled

Forgotten unforgettable
you walk around and ache
for a heart indestructible
and if you won’t breathe through
the stories which make you
you’ll never find the other side…
without strength, such frailty
fraught by woe spent word
cannot survive

I cried long for myself
without remedy for the bloodstains
now I wear lines like scars
Those passages I attempted
to erase from the stars
still cannot leave me
each thread necessary
although it unravels me
The forgotten unforgettable
without weakness, would not carry strength
nor become indestructible…

Carrie Gilbert 2017

Leave a Reply

