Who Floats Around Me

Few words I speak
to the voice with hollowed sound
which floats around me—
resigning takes strength enough
where the low lies in deceitful wait

This coward so fearlessly
believes tiny breath’s enough to startle me
soon to learn I have no weakness to be sought
This imitation of a heart
will certainly suffocate; not one wiser thought
in helplessness nor honesty impart
for each feeling confounds meaning

At least I will awaken
several heart beats before
nightmares swirl high beneath my door
in the wake of this barely being

who floats around me…

Carrie Gilbert 2016

Leave a Reply

