Empty Words

Sometimes, it is those empty words that fill up so much space. The words that have become disjointed from phrases that should be familiar to me by now. Within this undefined state where I rest, I have lost a grip on much of what I once knew. Even when speaking in my dreams, there is little thought to where exactly along the way I landed on that particular train of thought, except that I feel myself seeking to definitively end insistent questions and finally be assured of at least one promise that my heart is strong enough to make myself. The empty words never read quite the same way day in and out, and still they are the one tangible reality for me to hold on to as I sit here another hour to wonder, slowly and barely transcending towards a new hope so far from my grasp…

Leave a Reply

