Unanticipated

An unanticipated light raindrop
barely intrudes upon my soul
I never requested such interruptions
unprepared for a thousand new holes
in this prolonged story
entrenched page for page
in my long denied glory

This unanticipated ghost emotion
cries and tries my soul
wanting to steal some safe moment
made to save my sullen heart
Though I walk by waning moon’s misguided motion
from resolve I mustn’t part…

An unanticipated sunset melody
denies being heard within a hopeless heart
for no such scenarios hold transforming skies
Illusionary colours blend only to break apart…

An unanticipated light raindrop
barely intrudes upon my soul
still my greater need
to flee each foreign road
screams for calm and certain seas
begs that I interrupt thought—
sleep to forget dreams…

Carrie Gilbert 2016

Leave a Reply

