Yesterday

Dwell with me for a few minutes in the land of yesterday, will you? How did it feel for you compared to today? Were you filled with love, consumed with pain, or somewhere in between? Often I find myself retreating there, recreating, erasing the moments, idealizing the comfort of an older time. I am well aware that this rarely benefits my well being, however I can create such a longing within to ease my sadness that I retreat there in idle times, hoping for release. But that release never lasts. I always have no choice but to return to this moment. Nothing that was has changed, and no past glorious moment will ever occur in the same way twice. Yesterday is a beautiful and necessary part of us all, and yet we mustn’t allow it to steal too much space where we now find ourselves. Today will not last.

Leave a Reply

