I Couldn’t Say

I met a part of myself yesterday

where she went, I couldn’t say

A waiting while since our last encounter

her shadow passed by hour after hour

while I hid stories in the moonlight

 

I waited for her song to leave again

I couldn’t say quite when

I’d forgotten such a dear old friend

I suppose perhaps I needed a reverie

from the sorrow she left after a hundred lightning filled skies

echoed the shame of each thunderous cry

delivered for lessons learned late

and unexpected goodbyes—

such lies brought on behalf of fate…

 

I found a part of myself yesterday

I knew her once, I heard her say

She woke me up inside a dream

insisted my heavy heart start listening

despite the delicately driving rain

reminding and echoing, reminding…

 

I met a part of myself yesterday

Where we’ll go, I just can’t to say…

Carrie Gilbert 2016

Leave a Reply

