Slumber Dream

These are the sullen times
dangerous for the space left in my mind
Thoughts spin their web, memories create my bind
Some recollections tarnished, still some days gone
or so the ticking, crooked hand of time
binding mine
would have me believe
when in life’s steady slumber dream
I conceive a heart at home
This slumber dream, some sullen days
steals serene dreams away
I cling to warmth from those years gone by
here far too much consumed within
a self who never took enough in
or realized how souls on fire never dim
I fall down, around, down, I turn and turn around…
I fall down, down, down, into some shadows of love
fleetingly free, enough is not enough
Something regarding the parting and restarting entraps this heart…
These are the sullen times, birthing the slumber dream
I won’t close my eyes, I won’t long for sleep
I won’t long for sleep…   

Carrie Gilbert 2015   
Leave a Reply

