Where Love Needs to Be

Forsaking all I forgot myself to be
if only for a piece of the heart you left with me
I sleep to exist in a multi-layered dream
changing the colours, painting fictional scenes  
Leaving you so buried in between
my lake of sorrows, my forlorn sun beams
Protecting and reflecting on why love wasn’t enough to see
us through this alarming and disarming break in reverie
Losing myself in these textures alluding to but confusing themselves with belief
the blues and the greys in raging waves devour me
I feel I’m sleeping while creating new belief
for my spirit is caught between where love once was, and where it needs to be…
Carrie Gilbert 2015
Leave a Reply

