Inside the Storm


Guilty of dreams disguised as memories

I lift my eyes to the sky in effort to bid goodbye
The leaves dance among the rain;
colours build and burst inside the storm
And I wait
with a heart half open
and a silent little fear these raging thoughts will win
some secret war they decided somehow to wage against me
And the ocean rises up
somewhere in the distance
waiting to meet my resistance
with lullabies and tales of others who survived storms that came before
Guilty of hanging on to a weary, shore spent wave
I turn with the endless, restless tide, the cry inside, wait for the wings on which to soar…
And I wonder, I shouldn’t need to wonder…why I have yet to seek something more…
Carrie Gilbert 2014
Leave a Reply

