Remembered Me

You remembered me because I loved you

when you were lost on the other side of the moon
You held your love from me
when my emotions and devotions where as boundless as the sea
The time has turned away from those old dreams—now the danger is in belief
You remember me for the heart I offered you
when your voice went unheard among the stars
And though you realized I would have given with every inch of my heart
you lacked a true heart’s courage, gave up the risk to let us part
to let us part so that the bruises might not start
Still you left me lost and black and blue
in my years of longing and aching for you
And when I’d lay down my weary head
finally resting with my own dreams instead
when I became accustomed to the softer, sweeter, self made hues
that’s when you returned to say I love you  
Now neither of us can use that love anymore
so I’ll turn around, pretend you never opened your secret door…
You held your love from me
when my emotions and devotions where as boundless as the sea…
Carrie Gilbert 2014
Leave a Reply

