Coax My Heart


Make me silent where the rain gently speaks
Softly coax from my heart
all I need to learn when weak
Allow me to recognize, feel unbound by compromise
Let me allow myself to be all that I need
Make me take those gentle steps
one by one, until my voice is all that’s left
unbound by perception, my words my direction
Breaking me from sorrow’s prison
leading me to all the beauty locked within
a heart that longs to unfold
away from down and around and underneath,
where it tends to lurk, but now bends and seeks…
Recover the song that I was born into
and unlock the notes that I intricately composed to see myself through
the disdain and unpredictable rains of a world only ignorant
because they caught themselves in the beckoning blue
of the notion that we all a part of a different ocean
They forgot what drops turned waves could do—
I only have to recall when I feel the sorrow of it all
This bountiful heart paints a part of the universe too
…I say this prayer so that my discord falls away with the tide’s new moon
Make me silent where the rain gently speaks
Softly coax from my heart
all I need to learn when weak…
Carrie Gilbert 2014
Leave a Reply

