Let These Part


Is sadness all I’ll ever know of love?
My tired heart must come and take me home
I can’t step into my own disaster
Hoping on a gone tomorrow
Take my torn up words
In impatient hands
I just might need them back someday
In order to repeat
The memory of a broken heartbeat.
Is there a need to try?
A need to know when uncertain?
Without pain, might I sustain
And write my way out of the dark?
Is disappointment the lone resolution for my heart?
Then tell me now…
Reserve my strength
Let imaginings and emotions part ways…
Carrie Gilbert 2012 
Leave a Reply

