Still Heart


My heart stilled
But since I forgot
Couldn’t stop
It didn’t bleed
Only felt a faded bruise
In the part of my heart that was weakened, then made strong
I stumbled upon the truth of emotion
It is an honest, unbroken moment
A result of the beautiful journey
One that never ends
As the leaves change
This creates in me colours anew to grow into
My heart stilled
But where I placed down fear
Old joys visited again
To spin it into steady rhythm
Renewed and redefined
Releasing me of my preconceived pains
My heart stilled
But couldn’t stop
For my heart is still my heart…
Carrie Gilbert 2012
Leave a Reply

