I Will Only Love Greater

Without this broken heart
How could I love greater?
Why not abandon the fear?
Because lonely is an island not meant for forever
And my heart has seen sad days longer
Than the raging seas ever asked of it
The tears were wasted while I could’ve been free
And I’ve lost nothing that was meant for me

I will only love greater
When that love is true
Because a love that has suffered no obstacles
Doesn’t really know what love is for, what it can do
Or resound as wonderfully
The most beautiful of my melodies

I will only love greater
Because this sorrow filled rain will bring me there…

Carrie Gilbert 2012

Leave a Reply

