Sing

You lift me up and pull me in
With music that speaks from the soul
You reach me in unexpected refrains
Melody of the chorus to release all doubt
I think I’ll never stand again and then
You believe, and I can’t help the believing
Of a life that means so much more than I ever conceived

You take my hand through lyrical memory
When I can’t find my tears
You allow them to fall within the waves of verse
Three voices to release me
Oh, now I’m drenched in the peace of harmonies
I feel through these notes, know I will be okay
That perhaps I can shine almost as brightly as you
If I pursue the passions as they burn
Don’t wait until they’ve died out

You lift me up and pull me in
With music that gives me hope and bravery to be everything
You ever sing I can…

Carrie Gilbert 2011

Leave a Reply

