Rare Diamond in the Sky

If I could tell myself
Only recent years gone by
How much it would confuse me
Just through the strain compound me
I might not have lost the willingness
To love like I was
A rare diamond in the sky
A rare diamond in the sky
Such a sweet and precious star
For incredible to find

After a long and laboured fight
Brought to their knees beneath the moonlight
Unblinking should this pass them by
A rare diamond in the sky

If I could save myself
Embrace the moment that I’m in
Embody the blessings of my journey so fortunate
I might not breathe with wearied hesitation
When I think of my desire so strong and long to wait again
Believe the stars too far from my reach
Rather I’d remember, how to dream because I love to dream

Somehow I must find out why I let myself hide
Somehow allow myself to love
Like I was
A rare diamond in the sky…

Carrie Gilbert 2011

Leave a Reply

