Tipped Over the Moon

I tipped over the moon for you
But you will never see it
I held on too long
To what I shouldn’t have believed in
I’ve never known your face or that your place
In imagination meant never to be real
Now as my tired feet make their way home
My heart is beating as I return hope
To the star where I found it
The star that never was

I tipped over the moon for you
How I wanted you to see it
I overtook my weakness for you
So you might not believe it
Waiting to find you on the other side
I tipped over the moon and tripped over my pride
I’m only trying to accept how I must remain
Alone in the world, love a fairy tale, used to keep me sane
Nothing more…

Carrie Gilbert 2011

Leave a Reply

