Through My Skin

Through my skin
This girl has been watching everything
And they fade her out, so forthright
Nothing can stay that feels too warm
To take to heart
Though she coincides without yesterday’s dreams
And the voices from the balcony
They sigh
Taking nothing inside
Save an unmoving pair of discontented eyes

Like a mystery for always
Is how I appear too vividly
A continuing chapter of uncompromising clarity
While the clouds remain over my eyes
Have I yet to begin?
I swallow my doubts; still the sun sinks again and again
Through my skin
This girl has too much courage to pretend

Carrie Gilbert 2011

Leave a Reply

