Dare to Love Me

Your eyes unveil a truth in me I’ve never known
Still the disguise in mine remains unseen
If you want honesty you should despise me so
Why should you bleed and let me in?

Can’t you sense the darkness following me?
You’re just outside my fragile view
Of a world I’ve only known as broken
And a heart that stilled before it grew

Would you dare to love me?
Could you see past the girl made up of lies?
Together means shared sickness and hopeless days in agony
You’d rather wish you’d hope to die
I shouldn’t love me if I had half a clue
So why won’t I stay away from you?
Maybe I’m about to fall before I can run
I dare you to love me do what no one else has done…

Carrie Gilbert 2011

Leave a Reply

