Void

My heart has lost its wonder
As I wander full of doubt
My thoughts are all asunder
Don’t know how to breathe them out
These words are not releasing from me
Anything

My steps are still with motion
Only I can feel this
As I lean toward the ocean
I long for what I miss
And this isn’t so unusual
Except that I might not break free
Not this time

But I’ve never owned a dream that wasn’t mine

My eyes hide the unspoken
A different vision at my command
The translation of words from my hands
Lost in a lesser than capacity to understand
If only wishes could turn darkness around
My lost patience would not refrain from waiting
Impossible to know the how and why

Because I’ve never owned a dream that wasn’t mine…

Carrie Gilbert 2011

Leave a Reply

