Prayer and a Dream

With the words that would become me
Would you take the name I made for myself?
If a wish could turn that star towards me
How impossible would they deem my strength to be seen?
This dream has no reason
Only my prayer remains amid the eyes of hesitancy
To keep it company

Falling with such a balance
These pains barely sink the surface of my skin
Inside a frightful heartbeat but soon I blink again
Nowhere is always a place to go when you can’t begin
Now I reach for the outlines of a dancing moonbeam
Barely there with a single prayer to hold to this dream

And the light rests here at my core
Still I cannot burst and I cannot steal
One single silent moment of courage
Or hope imagination will free me from
Falling endlessly

This dream has no reason
Only my prayer remains amid the eyes of hesitancy
To keep it company

Carrie Gilbert 2010

Leave a Reply

