City and Town

Pick up my sometimes lonely heart
But you can’t buy me guarantees
Take enough so we can’t part
I wonder where the lines will start
In this story without beginning

I am wondering around within this head space
Of fragmented heart and fragile memories
The skies turn pink before they wait
For indecision to look me in the eyes
And for time to decide
Where my heart will be found

I must let myself remember
Tomorrow hasn’t known my heart
Somewhere between city and town my world can breathe
Somewhere among these stars there must be something to believe
I will find my strength
I will find my peace
And live up to the light my heart holds with no fear

I am breaking through the broken nights
And lost under sunlight my words carry the day
Barely reaching the twilights’ peak of misery
Am I meant to inspire the skies this way?
Will it take an ocean to wash away the pain?
I try my might beyond these tears and years
Still I find myself silenced for yesterday

Somewhere between city and town my world can breathe
Somewhere among these stars there must be something

To believe…

Carrie Gilbert 2010

Leave a Reply

