The Way To Belief

As those eyes set to stone
All those times I could’ve known
In my regret I never looked in between the smile
Take me out from beneath this drowning doubt at least I can see

Finally
It feels safe to breathe

Show me the way to belief
Past this confusion, weighing on me
Wake me up, from this terrifying dream
Broken chains; from a naive past
At least they mean I can live at last

I’m lost on the way to belief
And each wrong direction leaves me feeling incomplete
Though soon through eyes unfrozen I’ll show
Misguided moonlight is essential to growth

Grant me patience for all that you see
I needed the pain to feel relief
And though I break on the way to belief

My heart will finally speak to me…

Carrie Gilbert 2010

Leave a Reply

