Purge

Distilled energy; built it up in me
For the strain of an unknown name
To an unknown place I’ve been
Where I left a single set of footprints
And turned my world within these hands
Fighting, blinder still, against the rain

And the light was spent
The day wore off of me
The second glance I couldn’t chance to see
So I discovered what it was to drown
In the sweetest waters of illusion
Left my voice to distilled colors; filling my absence,
Silencing confusion
Drowning the layers of multi-colour emotions

And as I purge the blood left in my heart
I open my eyes so carefully
Night is not yet spent
Distilled energy; soul released to this dream…

Carrie Gilbert 2010

Leave a Reply

