Placate

A need to know I was awakened
Not just feel it
Sometimes I’d rather not speak
For only silence changes
The words they forgot are not to be spoken
If I suffocate you in my pitiful state
Turn your eyes without even seeing me
I’ll keep and take too much to heart
Lines unbroken in me carry this trace of light from yesterday
Take in this fear because it’s the only thing that doesn’t know how to escape me
You know better how to placate it anyway
Like a broken child…

Carrie Gilbert 2010

Leave a Reply

