Let Me

Slipping beneath the dark light
Reflected in my own eyes
Love let me change
Don’t let me break
The silence won’t let me wake
And I try to believe, try to conceive
Those stars outside will let me breathe
Though I still separate myself
There’s so much I know I don’t see
But I swear I’m still fighting

Slipping beneath the bright light
Unable to bear its beauty
Love let me go
Don’t haunt me so
The music won’t let me partake
And I try but I’m blind from the shine you stole from my eyes
Sweet possessions I shared were never yours they were mine
Though tonight I forget myself
I smile where they can’t see
The truth is I’m tired of fighting…

Carrie Gilbert 2010

Leave a Reply

