The Fight

I feel something’s so wrong
I live in this and it’s taking me over
Underneath a song
I fight until the ache is over
I long to be
Done and over with
I long to see
My love for all its worth
May not be much
What I really need
Is your guidance through this dream
Please set me free
Make me want to breathe
I feel so safe in empty

I am held in by the wind
And yet I’m not in one place
Scattering, I recklessly spin
My smile gone without a trace
Wishing there was liberty
From loving on so endlessly
Nothing is ever the same
Though I’ve grown stronger from change
I cease to feed this need for escape
Still I wonder if a lifetime it takes
To persist and resist the fall
I still see your face in among the stars and I
Hurt the most when I remember why
Let the light hold me close to remind me I am fine
I live in this and it’s taking me over
Underneath a song
I fight for darkness to be over
I long to be
Better, stronger and bolder

I am love in its purest form…

Carrie Gilbert 2010

Leave a Reply

