Hold On, Hold On

When I am asleep
The forgotten stars follow me
With all the clouds I didn’t see
Rolling by so hauntingly
And all too soon I have to wake
Though I want to break
In this hour, it’s nothing but strength or the fall

So I hold on, hold on, while I watch the night burn
I hold on, hold on, to the glory for which my soul yearns
When I wake up
I know these fears have had enough
I can’t tell feeling from memory
I take another mile, in exchange for a smile
I wear so carefully…all the while
I hold on, hold on, for a star not yet known…

Carrie Gilbert 2009

Leave a Reply

