Only an Illusion

I rest on the dark side of this fairyland
My eyes hide the moon, set to stars they stand
Transcend through the darkest nightmare
And find the wish that landed there

Time was only an illusion
And you the root of my confusion
Illusionary images left me scared
Because my hand was still though your heart wasn’t there

Obsession’s possession is your magic’s reflection
Why must I suffer to feel your protection?
I am lost to thinking imaginary is real
It’s too bleak for hope, to bleed when you feel

I spread my wings on the forest floor
To take in all the daylight where it was never bright before
I allow myself to float endlessly on air
To a place, to a world where I’m loved because I care

I’m seduced under the spell of this conjured up man
My tears are only an illusion
Because they are of silver not sadness
And a part so enticing in my madness

Time was only an illusion
And you the root of my confusion
Illusionary images left me scared
Because my hand was still though your heart wasn’t there

I drown the best in delusions
Those sweet diversions from my pain
My heart is only an illusion
Because it will mend itself again…

Leave a Reply

