If I Should

Caught myself in this trance
Though I forget why I’m crying
Could it be that I’m dying
Dying to capture you
Under the rainy skies
Break through these hazy visions with my hazel eyes
And dare to set the words free
My words that will unearth all this truth you left in me

I want to hold you but I don’t know if I should
But maybe I can be there for you when there’s nowhere else to turn
I wish I could share my fears with you but I don’t know if I should
You might decipher in my tears what you’d rather not learn
I wish it were alright to love you but I don’t know if should
Listen to the world or the steady voice within

Step back from this five a.m. dream
How can I regret your smile touching me?
Still awareness is broken and broken
I can’t believe
I can only see through the darkness
How these illusions dance along my walls
The shadows fooling me
Because love is not found in a dream

I want to hold you but I don’t know if I should
But maybe I can be there for you when there’s nowhere else to turn
I wish I could share my fears with you but I don’t know if I should
You might decipher in my tears what you’d rather not learn
I wish it were alright to love you but I don’t know if should
Listen to the world or the steady voice within

I feel a little crazy when I start to cry
But when you come around my shame falls behind
You reassure me that this world is still kind
You are too much for me, too amazing a find
Now all I have is this absence of time
If I held on tight, could I make you mine?
Will you walk through my garden at night?
See how the rose water shines…

I want to hold you but I don’t know if I should
But maybe I can be there for you when there’s nowhere else to turn
I wish I could share my fears with you but I don’t know if I should
You might decipher in my tears what you’d rather not learn
I wish it were alright to love you but I don’t know if should
Listen to the world or the steady voice within

Listen to the steady voice within…

Leave a Reply

