A Reason

You’re a secret I keep,
From golden summer’s light,
I’ve never been here before,
I’ll just watch the lights change,
I’ll just follow your cause through this highway,
A want to love, a need to pray…

He reaches for a smile of a child in need,
It helps him to heal and makes him believe,
And thousands of miles from that blessed land,
This sweet small girl rests her head in his lap.

She dances with two children,
And she’s their music lady,
Says lately, I feel the little girl in me,
And how my heart feels at home…

You’re a soft shift in me,
Not sure where it begins,
But it starts with the moonbeams,
And I leave this place happy again,

I leave this place where I last saw your face,
Those eyes were searching mine…
Though my heart doesn’t break it cracks and it aches,
For someone can change you in such a short time.

When you sing to me, I surrender my defences,
You touch me so, so I forgot what it was…
To walk this world alone,
Separate from the light, one with the darkness.

And I come back to you crying,
I’ve seen how the rain refreshes and thrills me,
And I’ll do whatever it takes,
To share this hope freshly born inside…

You’re a secret I keep,
From golden summer’s light,
I’ve never been here before,
I’ll just watch the lights change,
I’ll just follow your cause through this highway,
A want to love, a need to pray…

Now I wait on that final embrace under skies,
You will be my most beautiful sacrifice,
I don’t know why I love you,
But love doesn’t need a reason…

Leave a Reply

