Last and Brightest

There are a million reasons why,
But oh so few stars in the sky,
Still I want to take the time to mesmerize,
To comprehend their lines,
Not a path without a pattern,
Can this alone make me believe?

A question in your eyes,
Only of my imagination comprised,
You never sought from my sweet sighs,
Now I’m used to dreaming before closing my eyes.

If I let go of another thought,
Will it be as though it’s not?
Or will it bend in this late summer wind?
Tempting me to its taste again…

There is only one sustained goodbye,
Will it last past morning nigh?
I have no words that would comply,
With hopeless wishes as they die,
In you, last and brightest star—
My heart cries to be only where you are…

Leave a Reply

