Hurt Yourself

If I could place my hand to your heart
Would your soul know where you start?
Or would it just keep on bleeding, singing
Songs of a life that’s never kind?

If you could truly see my heart,
This girl who doesn’t know where to start,
Would you trust me enough to part,
From believing words that aren’t

Even close to what I mean?

Now I’d let go but I can’t help,
Loving you like no one else,
And I know you think I let you down,
Even though I gave through the pain you dealt,
You were the one who hurt yourself

You placed your hand to my heart
And I felt where your soul starts,
I can’t explain what it’s done to mine,
A feeling so cruel and a feeling so kind

Now I’d let go but I can’t help,
Loving you like no one else,
And I know you think I let you down,
Even though I gave through the pain you dealt,
You were the one who hurt yourself

Leave a Reply

