The Apartment

You called out in the distance,
My smile thought you were near,
I fell down to this unconscious
Wondering how my fears found me here.

A sighed apology that bordered tears,
There I stayed—inside relief,
But you stood there with an empty stare,
Invited me in but you were not there.

I kept waiting in that hollow room,
Remembering that unique soul,
When once again I became the fool…
That soul had left, long ago.

This emotion in me was a lie,
I was surrounded by memories; nothing
Remaining in the words; just that time
When heart linked heart and there was a shine in your eyes.

You led me there and left me bare
Of hope…had I followed the moon?
And again I feel the pain there
In the shadows gone too soon…

Where we are left, stunned and confused,

And there is something I miss…

Leave a Reply

