Forgotten Smile

For a while,
Swallowing those emotions back inside,
I took the weight and a smile,
Floating back on the wings of life.

And I’ll never see everything
But I only want to believe
In this star slowly dying
Effortlessly emerge from my place of hiding

…where the thoughts went
Like a fading in your empty light
Drawing me in; a soul for rent,
Weak and running; oh the blindness of sight.

Keep your offerings,
Although nothing is better than gone,
I won’t stay in the wonderings,
My song is calling me home.

And you think you’ve seen everything
But you chose not to believe
Your star was left dying
While you drifted and embraced pain…hiding.

I’m afraid the world might forget your smile…

One response to “Forgotten Smile

Leave a Reply

